We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Surpassing All Kings

by Vespero

supported by
Peter Jones
Peter Jones thumbnail
Peter Jones So, listened to Liventure #19 before this. It's disorienting to hear "the same" tracks played differently (in sound - studio, not live) and in a different order...

General rule: listen to the studio version first. It's still great but I just like live performance ambience.

It's also changed my favourite track - it wasn't on Liventure #19. Glide (also new) is a close second. Though in ten minutes, I'll change my mind again. Favorite track: Serata (i.n.s.i.e.m.e.).


Order from R.A.I.G.

Surpassing All Kings is the first album by VESPERO that resulted from completely new studio sessions instead of merely compiling the best tunes from earlier occasional recordings. Basic tracks were recorded in Astrakhan from November 2007 to November 2008, mixed and mastered in Moscow by Alisa Coral (of SPACE MIRRORS and PSI CORPS) in January 2009. Not surprisingly, this is not your usual progressive rock album. Full of fairy-light synthesizer washes, general sound leans towards experimental space rock with long, quirky but cohesive compositions that travel through several movements and time changes, and come across as perpetually progressing pieces, where ethereal voicing stand along with lyrics in the invented language. A charmingly blended fusion of various musical styles and ideas helps to make this album a true joy to experience. Music lovers with an open mind toward a symbiosis of progressive and psychedelic rock will find a lot to admire here. (7 tracks - 55 min.)

"What Vespero produce is music that manages to be both dark and ethereal at the same time, which sounds like a contradiction in itself, but in the sense that they have both prog-rock and avant-garde elements to their sound should start to make more sense." – by Ian Abrahams at "Spacerock Reviews" (UK)


released June 5, 2009

Performed by:
Ivan Fedotov - drums, percussions
Arkady Fedotov - bass, synthesizer, voice (4, 5)
Alexei Klabukov - keyboards, accordion (7)
Alexander Kuzovlev - guitar, electronic manipulations
Natalya Tjurina - voice

All music by Vespero
Recorded by Alexander Kuzovlev at the Vespero's Facility in Astrakhan
Mixed and mastered by Alisa Coral at the KZI Studio in Moscow
Artwork by ZonderZond
Executive production by Igor Gorely


all rights reserved



Vespero Russian Federation

"One listen to this musical outfit from Southern Russia known as Vespero was all it took to make me begin thinking about the great things that must be happening in Russia…"(by Ryan Sparks, Sea Of Tranquility).

contact / help

Contact Vespero

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account